Collection LES MOTS DU SILENCE
Soft cover
Pages: 160
ISBN : 978-2-491157-04-3
Publisher: Editions Renaissens
Release date: February 28, 2020 
Language: French

Synopsis and biography

Christelle is 21 years old. Born profoundly deaf, she was under surgery at the age of four for a hearing implant and attended an ordinary primary school accessible to deaf people. But accessibility comes at a price, as sign language translation (LSF) is only available a few hours a day. The rest of the time, Christelle drowns in a world of sounds that she does not distinguish. Although effective in other circumstances, her cochlear implant does not allow her to understand the words of her teacher.
In this moving testimony, Christelle provides an overview of the educational difficulties deaf people encounter – 80% of whom are illiterate according to a recent study by the French administration. At what price should deaf people fit in, if it results in suffering, frustration and accentuates the discrimination they already experience on a daily basis?

Through this text, the reader questions the advantages of including deaf people in the ordinary school system. A practice encouraged by public authorities, it seems on the contrary to prevent equal opportunities and accentuate school failure.
Due to education very few deaf people, in France, can write. For this reason this book is unique. Also because it forces the reader to enter an unknown universe where attitudes, group spirit, and emotions are very different. It challenges our assumptions and forces us to take issues deaf people encounter seriously.

Torn between the world of deaf people and the universe of those who hear well, another point should be added to Christelle's biography: her family speaks Thai, Laotian and Chinese. Deprived of her mother tongue, she discovered sign language at the age of three and oral French with a speech therapist.

Christelle is currently studying at a fashion school in Cannes, France, and hopes to one day become a renowned stylist.

The cover design was drawn by Romane Maltese, 20..

Bookstores: the book is registered on the bookseller's application in every bookstore and sales outlets in France. 

en_GBEnglish

Deux Mondes

Collection LES MOTS DU SILENCE
Couverture souple
160 pages
ISBN : 978-2-491157-04-3
Éditeur : Editions Renaissens
Date de parution : 28/02/2020 
Langue : français

Résumé et biographie


Christelle a 21 ans. Elle est née sourde profonde avec une surdité totale. Implantée chirurgicalement à l’âge de 4 ans, elle va partager durant tout le primaire les bancs d’une école ordinaire accessible aux sourds. Mais l’accessibilité se résume à une traduction en langue des signes (LSF) quelques heures par jour. Le reste du temps elle est noyée dans le brouhaha et perdue. Bien qu’efficace en d’autres circonstances, son implant cochléaire ne lui permet pas de distinguer les mots prononcés par le maître.
Christelle nous livre, dans ce témoignage bouleversant, les difficultés scolaires que rencontrent les sourds, dont 80 % selon un rapport gouvernemental récent seraient illettrés. À quoi bon l’intégration quand elle engendre souffrance, frustration et accentue les discriminations vécues au quotidien ?

En lisant ces lignes, le lecteur s’interroge sur les « bienfaits » de l’inclusion des sourds dans le système scolaire ordinaire. Favorisée par les pouvoirs publics, elle semblerait au contraire empêcher l’égalité des chances et aggraver l’échec scolaire.
Ce texte rare (car très peu de sourds écrivent), nous propulse dans un univers étranger où les attitudes, l’esprit de groupe et les émotions nous surprennent. Le sous-texte, riche en pistes de réflexion psycho-socio-médico-pédagogiques invite à considérer très sérieusement le problème.

Partagée entre le monde des sourds et celui des « entendants » une double complexité s’ajoute à la biographie de Christelle : sa famille s’exprime en thaïlandais, laotien et chinois. Privée de langue maternelle, elle découvre la langue des signes à l’âge de 3 ans et le français oralisé chez l’orthophoniste.

Christelle suit actuellement une formation dans une grande école de mode de Cannes et espère un jour devenir une styliste renommée.

Modalité d’achat en librairie : l’ouvrage est référencé dans tous les points de vente de livres francophones. Il s’obtient sur commande (Fnac, Cultura, librairies de quartier…)